Myth Busting

It’s time for me to start busting some myths about Mental Health Illnesses.

Now, I’m no Doctor… but I sure as hell have lived through enough bollocks for my age!

People with depression are never happy

Ofcourse, everyone’s depression varies greatly, depending on the cocktail of medication you’re taking. Your lifestyle and the support you have around. 

But, a massive pet peeve of mine is when people assume I can never be happy. Yeah, the depression is here and it’s not budging anytime soon. Don’t forget though, depression is a psychological illness! 

To some extent, if you treat it with respect… it will be kinder to you. So when I was binge drinking and taking drugs. It was obviously going to get worse 

Nurturing it though, through counselling, patience and love. I’ve managed to find the happy balance I’ve wanted for many years. The black dog is still there, but he’s sleeping.

So yeah, people with depression can be happy.

“You’re just overreacting”

Anxiety isn’t just psychological, it causes physical symptoms: heart palpitations, cold sweats, uncontrollable fast breathing and my favourite symptom.. hallucinating!

I usually find that my hallucinations are out of body experiences, as if I’m floating above my body and that the physical weight of my body has disappeared.

This also ties in with the emotional dysregulation, which is not reacting to emotions how most people usually would.

So I’d impulsively spend when I felt stressed, only causing myself more stress due to being in debt. 

To this day, I have a very ‘Jekyll and Hyde’ personality. I could be in a moment of hysteria, ripping clumps of my hair out and hitting my head on surfaces to then being absolutely euphoric and buzzed as if I’d just taken Cocaine.

It’s strange being able to notice this in myself, it’s scary having to live through it.
Sadness and Depression are the same

If sadness and depression are the same… then so is a twisted ankle and a bloody broken leg!

They are not the same! 

Yes, long bouts of sadness can become depression. But just because you didn’t win on a fucking scratchcard doesn’t automatically cause a serious mental health issue!
Sadness is a fleeting emotion, depression is a lead-filled bag on your back 24/7.

Only soldiers get PTSD

This is by far the most infuriating thing to hear pass someone’s lips. 

post-traumatic stress disorder

(also post-traumatic stress syndrome)

NOUN

Medicine 

  • [mass noun] A condition of persistent mental and emotional stress occurring as a result of injury or severe psychological shock, typically involving disturbance of sleep and constant vivid recall of the experience, with dulled responses to others and to the outside world

Source for description.

Where the hell does it say that strictly soldiers get PTSD… NOWHERE!

PTSD occurs after a traumatic event, be it an RTA, sexual abuse, domestic violence, etc.

The main symptoms for me have been flashbacks, nightmares, being super vigilant and having horrendously bad trust issues.

I get triggered if I smell a certain deodorant, if someone looks like ‘John Smith’, if I’m confined in a small space against my will and if I’m not in control of a situation.

“It’s just hormones”

This realllyyyyy gets on my tits, the amount of Doctor’s I have had say this to me has been stupid. 

I can tell when I’m being a hormonal, whiney little bitch. 

But, feeling suicidal, attempting suicide and self inflicted injuries for 4 years is not ‘just my hormones’!

Doctor’s think that just because they’ve read 4 fucking textbooks in Psychology that they know what it’s like to live with the struggle of this bullshit daily.

They don’t have a fucking clue.

Debunk as many myths you can to raise awareness on the severity of mental illnesses.

If Kiwi can cope, so can you.

🙂

Author: KiwiCanCope

Kiwi | 20 | South England | NHS I'm a tattoo fanatic. This blog is honest, brutal and possibly upsetting to some readers.

Leave a Reply

