Dealing With A Relationship Breakup

The title is pretty self explanatory to what this blog post is going to be about.

7 days ago, my now ex-boyfriend and I broke up. Relationship breakdowns are never easy to cope with, regardless of how toxic the relationship may have been – they still make you feel like it’s the end of the world!

I’m not proud to say this, but every relationship I have had has resulted in me instigating a breakup. I don’t know what it is about commitment that terrifies me so much. I guess that right now I’m just not cut out for all the bollocks relationships bring with them.

The most recent relationship I’ve had was the brightest, most positive 8 months I have had in many years! I had never fallen so inlove, so fast. I met the most caring, wonderful, bubbly person ever that was the mirror image of me. He was and will always be my first true love.

Fate had it’s way and we drifted very quickly which unfortunately, led to the demise of ‘us’. 

So when the breakup actually happened, we had actually decided to go on a break… not to speak to eachother very much/at all for a couple of weeks to see how we’d feel. I started crashing straight away and started spiralling stupidly, I started drinking nightly – to the point I was barely able to stand. I made some decisions in the first few days that were silly. I hated the uncertainty of not knowing if we were going to work out… so I ended it abruptly and completely 4 days later. 

Over the last few days, I’ve had regrets about the decision but ultimately it was the best thing for us both.

The last few days haven’t been as hurtful as I had imagined due to my incredible family and close group of friends. Through all the wrongs on my part recently, they have stuck by me ensuring I’ve been kept busy.

So my advice is:

  • Go out and see friends/family – go for a meal, a walk or even pop over their house just for a cup of tea/coffee (whatever you prefer).
  • Tell yourself that it ISN’T the end of the world – as long as you’re still breathing, you keep on moving forward!
  • Accept that things haven’t gone the exact way that you would of hoped – fate has funny ways of pushing us onto bigger and better things!
  • Don’t beat yourself up over the what if’s – you’ll just get stuck in a rut and cause unecessary stress for yourself.
  • Let your hair down – it’s time to book that girls/guys holiday or have that night out you’ve needed!
  • Allow the emotions – people need to release anger and upset sometimes, people may take it out on you. Allow this, but only to an extent to which you are comfortable with. NEVER become someones emotional punchbag.
  • Be kind to yourself – accept the mistakes you’ve made and allow them to mould you into a more mature, caring human being!


If Kiwi can cope, so can you.

🙂


Author: KiwiCanCope

Kiwi | 20 | South England | NHS I'm a tattoo fanatic. This blog is honest, brutal and possibly upsetting to some readers.

Leave a Reply

