Songs That Keep Me Strong

I don’t tend to share the songs that I listen to when I’m in a dark place like I currently am. My boyfriend and I have just split up and I’m a fucking mess. I hope that anyone else going through the same thing – or very similar raw feelings can find comfort in these songs just like I do.

So the first song is one that I discovered a few years ago while high in a friend’s shed. They started playing this beautifully intricate acoustic song. I instantly fell in love with this artist. I always find that this song draws me away from the pain and angst I deal with daily. Especially at times like the last few days.

Jon Gomm – Topeka

The next song is by another acoustic artist called Trevor Hall. I was trawling through related videos on YouTube and came across this man, with his husky voice, incredible words and simplistic guitar. I couldn’t have fallen in love more if I tried.

Trevor Hall – All I Ever Know

The third song is from a group a friend of mine on Facebook shared about 5 years ago. These guys have been a quiet love of mine because they’re completely unheard of by most. Their tracks have helped me through times of desperate need.

Snowmine – Saucer Eyes



My forth song choice to add to this list is a song I came across recently thanks to my favourite YouTube star Bunny (grav3yardgirl). She said that this was her favourite song by this band. I HAD to listen to a song that she said also helped her through dark times.

Deerhunter – Helicopter

This song is a classic breakup song, I cannot even begin to fathom how relevant it is. There’s not really much more I can say.

SECRETS – Sleep Well, Darling

And on that note, I’m going to leave the list there for the time being. If anyone finds these help them out a little bit or want to know of other similar songs I listen to… Feel free to send me an email!

If Kiwi can cope, so can you.

🙂

Author: KiwiCanCope

Kiwi | 20 | South England | NHS I'm a tattoo fanatic. This blog is honest, brutal and possibly upsetting to some readers.

Leave a Reply

